I was absolutely delighted to meet with such a fantastic, dedicated group of nominees for this year’s NHS70 Awards.  It was a privilege to present certificates to all the nominees this morning.  

“Everyone in Nottingham South is rightly proud of our local NHS and care services, and I’m delighted to be taking part in the NHS70 Parliamentary Awards as a way of thanking and recognising the people who work in or support those services. “

The University of Nottingham Patient Safety Team  are going forward as one of the regional champions, they will then be judged by a high-level panel, with the overall winners announced at a special awards ceremony in Parliament on Wednesday 4 July -; the day before the NHS’s 70th birthday.  

“For the last 20 years, the team have developed ways of making improvements to the safety of prescribing medicines in primary care and have made a huge impact both locally and nationally. Good luck!”

The Nottingham South Nominees are listed below.

The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award, sponsored by Wesleyan:

Dr Jo Tedstone, Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Notts Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust – for achievement in integration and acceptance of psychological support within the field of physical healthcare.

The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: Pharmacy ED Team, Professor Mojgan Sani, Chief Pharmacist, NUHT –  for achievement in integrating a clinical pharmacy service in the Emergency Dept., at NUHT.

Healthier Communities Award: Oral Health Promotion Team, Julia Wilkinson, Notts Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust -; for Brushing Buddies, a supervised tooth brushing programme targeted at the most vulnerable primary schools in the City and County.

The Excellence in Primary Care Award: University of Nottingham Patient Safety Team , Professor Anthony Avery, Dean of Medical School, University of Nottingham – for the last 20 years the team have developed ways of making improvements to the safety of prescribing medicines in primary care.

The Person-Centred Care Champion Award: Harvey 2 Ward Team, Mrs Fay Allen, Ward Sister, NUHT- to acknowledge the critical part that emergency admission areas play in reducing pressures in the Emergency Departments.

The Care and Compassion Award: Emma Anderson, Community Support Worker, County Dementia Outreach Service. Notts Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust – to recognise her achievement in developing a concept of peer supervision for the community support workers, looking at the service development and learning opportunities.

The Patient and Public Involvement Award: Eric Wilson, Involvement Volunteer, Notts Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust -; for his tireless and innovative work partnering with the Involvement Team, making a difference to the lives of service users, patients, carers, staff and volunteers. He is highly valued as a volunteer and highly regarded by staff and his peers.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search